Cleaning a greasy stove top (or hood) filter: a before and after!

I was browsing Pinterest today and saw a pin for this blog post about how to clean a greasy stove hood filter. That is some good stuff right there. Check out her post, it gives detailed instructions and pictures on how to clean the filter.

We don’t have a stove hood, but our Jenn-Air stove has a built in vent and there’s a filter right on top. It has a cover on it, and usually I just try to ignore the idea that it’s there.

In fact, I believe I tried cleaning it awhile back and finally threw my hands up in the air and declared, “Good enough!” because I couldn’t cut through the grease… and went back to ignoring it. Thank goodness that cover helps me pretend it doesn’t exist.

Anyhow, so I came across that blog post today. And I was already planning on cleaning the top of our stove today (er, well, I meant to do it last week but whatever). Perfect timing!

This was super disgusting but in a (kind of) fun way, because it just feels good to watch all that grease melt away. Be careful to watch this carefully, mine bubbled up a lot and I had to keep pulling the filter out so it didn’t boil over. I had to do the whole process a second time, mostly because I couldn’t get the middle of the filter because the water wasn’t deep enough. The second time I didn’t add the baking soda right away, so I could let the hot water really get to work on the center part without worrying about it boiling over. I still couldn’t get the middle super well, but it’s still better than it was. The really dark areas are the parts that are closest to the griddle/grill part of our stove, so I’m guessing they are just really burnt.

Before:

filterbefore

During (yuck!):

filterduring

After:

filterafter

Not perfect, but at least it’s clean.

The rest of the stuff on top of our stove is dishwasher safe, so I put them in the dishwasher and then I thought, what the heck, I’ll put that metal filter in there, too (although it didn’t seem to make a difference). And then I somehow worked up the motivation to do some stove top scrubbing and made our stove fit to be cooked on again. Ick. I’d rather clean the bathroom than deal with kitchen crud.

I need to do the oven soon. Not looking forward to that, but it needs to be done. I need to win the lottery so I can pay someone else to do this stuff for me.

Leave a Reply

